New song: On The Mountain

We've released a brand new song called On The Mountain that is streaming now from our Bandcamp page. It's taken from our forthcoming mini-album called Hang From A Star that will be released by Desert Mine on 18 November 2022. 

Play It Cool video

We've just released a brand new video for our song Play It Cool. The video was made with our friends from One&OtherCreative and it features ourselves being escorted around the North Yorkshire countryside in a vintage Citroen sports car. The song is taken from our recently released album Life's An Illusion that's out now on Desert Mine Music.

Life's An Illusion - Out now

Our fifth album - Life's An Illusion - has been released by Desert Mine Music. It is available as a limited edition compact disc, and you can also download the album from the Desert Mine shop. The album should also shortly be available on all good streaming sites.

Marc Riley at 6Music has already played the album's opening track, City Rhythm. Plus, the Here Comes The Flood weblog has given the Life's An Illusion album a nice review here.

Check out two brand new videos from the album, City Rhythm and It's A Killer.

New Album - Life's An Illusion

We're proud to announce the imminent release of our fifth album - Life's An Illusion. It's been five years in the making, but it will be out on Desert Mine Music on 28 June 2019. Life's An Illusion is available as limited edition CD and download, and you can preorder it here.

The album was mixed by The Sorry Kisses with the assistance of Josiah Mazzaschi (Built To Spill, Rilo Kiley), and was recorded at The Cave Studio in Los Angeles, as well as our home studio in North Yorkshire, UK. 

The full tracklisting of Life's An Illusion is:

1. City Rhythm
2. It's A Killer
3. Life's An Illusion
4. Play It Cool
5. New Address
6. Bad Connection
7. Now That You're Dreaming
8. One Is One
9. See Her Fall
10. Waiting For Nothing

Check out the brand new video for our new song City Rhythm...

Recording Album #5

It’s in the works...

Life’s An Illusion

Here is a new song and video called 'Life's An Illusion'. The video stars one of our favourite artists Jade Blood who also designed our upcoming album artwork.


'Play Along' Why Don't You

It's out! It's released! It's for you to purchase if you desire from HERE or iTunes, Amazon etc etc and all good participating record stores.

Play Along - The 4th album from The Sorry Kisses

2015 sees the Sorry Kisses release their fourth album - Play Along.
Recorded at their home studio between August and November 2014, the album features ten tracks with all of the Sorry Kisses' trademark sounds present.
Beautiful fuzzed-up guitars and walls of soaring harmonies compete with the new arsenal of gnarly synth belches and Micah Calabrese's inventive drum-werk.


1. Play Along 
2. Nothing To Lose  
3. Into The Fire 
4. Something About The World   
5. I'll Never Know   
6. Wine And Flowers   
7. Here Is The Place  
8. Out Of Reach   
9. Turned Into A Ghost   
10. Miracle   

The Sorry Kisses are something of a cottage industry, having recorded three well-received albums of alternative rock from their home studio, the 'Factory Of Unprofessional Sound' in North Yorkshire.

The band have kept an authentic homespun feel and have been allowed to expand their fuzz-pop sound with backwards guitars, stuttering drum machines and multi-tracked harmonies., comprising the acclaimed solo performer Hayley Hutchinson and Sam Forrest from Nine Black Alps.  

The band have released three full length albums on their Desert Mine Music label - 'Hard Drive', 'Um And Ah' and 'Keep Smiling' - gaining exposure in the form of a BBC6 Marc Riley session and a song featured on the hit US drama Grey's Anatomy.

The band have been publicly "quiet of late" as they record their album, with Micah Calabrese - formerly of Giant Drag - who came over to the UK from Los Angeles to lay down some drums. Those who have been following The Sorry Kisses since 2006 will remember Micah played on our the band's first recording, 'Hard Drive', in California. "It's only taken nearly eight years to be reunited again" says Forrest.

Fitting in a soundtrack for the indie movie CrimeFighters in 2010 among their many albums, The Sorry Kisses are now gaining speed again: "We're holed up in our home studio at the moment working on ten tracks that will eventually end up on an album, our first full length album since 'Keep Smiling'. It's been awesome to have Micah involved this time and it finally feels like a proper band record and we can't wait to share it."